Speechless

by Eli Strull

Hobey Ford moved with focus. He was dressed in a relaxed way, all black. The backdrop was black too and the stage sparsely decorated. As I settled in for the puppet show with my children and parents, I realized quickly I was watching a master.

One thing I like about our profession is that I run into inspiration in unlikely places. While a skilled puppeteer who builds all his own creations was captivating an audience and celebrating the animal world, I was watching interpretation without words. It started with mime and moved to decorated foam animal figures moving effortlessly in an imaginary world he had painted with just gestures, movement, and music. Certainly thematic and universal concepts a plenty. Cool stuff!

So I have been thinking about ways to engage an audience beyond words. We all do that but a main focus for me is often the language I use. Have I been overlooking opportunities? I look forward to learning.

Hobey Ford can be found on YouTube and the inter webs.

Categories: Interpretation tools | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

